Meet the real: Lee Cervantes Millbern

October 5, 2017

Meet Lee Cervantes Millbern. Lee is a member of our Hispanics or Latinxs of AlixPartners (HOLA) employee resource group and chief of staff to our CEO in New York. In his Q&A, he shares his favorite restaurant, the advice he'd give to his 18-year-old self, and more.

Q: For those visiting your current city, what is one place you'd tell them to visit (must-see)?

A: If anyone were coming to NYC for the first time, I would recommend not missing a sunrise at Jacqueline Onassis Reservoir in Central Park. It has an uplifting energy that carries you throughout the day.

Q: What is your favorite (best/worst/funniest) travel memory?

A: Getting caught in heavy, dense fog high up in the Picos de Europa mountains in the north of Spain. I was driving 10 miles/hour on what seemed like a single lane road (even though two-way driving was allowed) when I unexpectedly saw countless shadows coming closer and surrounding our vehicle. I slowed down to a full stop. Suddenly, 30 or 40 wild goats were around our car with no intention of moving any time soon. They were on both sides, in front and in back, and even up on the rocks flanking the road. It made the experience quite surreal.   

Q: Name your favorite restaurant – where is it and what do you love most about it?

A: Ginger restaurant in Plaza de Santa Ana in Madrid, Spain. Or perhaps the kitchen at El Mercado de San Anton, also in Madrid. Broken eggs over hand-cut fries with Iberico ham on top…no words do it justice.

Q: Previous to AlixPartners, name an interesting job that you’ve had.

A: I was a one-man restroom cleaning crew for a big furniture store in Madrid, Spain during a whole summer when I was 16. The job really got interesting when toilets got clogged!

Q: What advice would you give your 18-year-old self?

A: Always do your best and don’t worry too much about it, because it all seems to work out in the end. If something ends up not working out, then it wasn’t meant to be.

Q: If you didn’t need money, what would you be doing now?

A: I would certainly be at the park playing with my daughters.